About us

The Single Electricity Market Committee (SEMC) is the decision making authority for all Single Electricity Market (SEM) matters.  Established in 2007 following the introduction of the SEM, legislation required the establishment of SEM governance in the form of a SEM Committee.

The principal objective of the SEMC is to protect the interests of consumers of electricity wherever appropriate by promoting effective competition between persons engaged in, or in commercial activities connected with the sale or purchase of electricity through the SEM.

The Committee consist of three Commission for Energy Regulation (CER) and three Utility Regulator (UR) representatives along with an independent and a deputy independent member.  On 25th February 2014 the CER and UR signed a Memorandum of Understanding that outlines how the two organisations will maintain and facilitate effective and beneficial co-operation and collaboration.  This signifies the ongoing commitment of both regulatory authorities to work together to ensure the effective delivery of both joint and separate statutory remits and for the customers of the energy and water sectors they regulate.